Joy Osofsky, PhD

Professor of Pediatrics and Psychiatry; Professor of Child Welfare and Psychiatry, LSU Health Sciences Center

Joy D. Osofsky, Ph.D. is a clinical and developmental psychologist, Ramsay Endowed Chair and Barbara Lemann Professor of Child Welfare at Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center in New Orleans. She has published widely and authored or edited eight books on trauma in the lives of children. Currently, together with three colleagues, she is editing the two volume WAIMH Handbook of Infant and Early Childhood Development. Dr. Osofsky is past president of ZERO to THREE and of the World Association for Infant Mental Health. She has been awarded as an Honorary President of WAIMH and currently serves on the Board of Zero to Three. She has had much experience with response to disasters playing a leadership role as Clinical Director for Child and Adolescent Initiatives for Louisiana Spirit, the Crisis Counseling Program following Hurricane Katrina and Co-Principal Investigator for the Mental Health Capacity Program following the Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill. She has served as Co-Principal of Centers within the National Child Traumatic Stress Network since 2003 and in 2007 received the Sarah Haley Award for Clinical Excellence in work with trauma by the International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies. In 2010 she was recognized with the Reginald Lourie Award for leadership and outstanding contributions to the health and welfare of children and families. In 2020, she was awarded the Translational Research Award from the International Congress on Infant Studies. In 2021, she received the ZERO TO THREE Lifetime Achievement Award.

I'm Speaking At